A. An individual who wants to obtain an Illinois real estate license must
complete the required pre-license education (subject to the few exemptions below),
pass a test, and file an application with the required fee.
Leasing agent license = 15 hours of instruction
in an approved course of study relating to the leasing of residential property
license = 45 hours of instruction in approved courses, and a minimum of 15 of
these hours must be in the areas of Article 15 of the Act (agency), disclosure
and environmental issues, or any other current topic as determined by the Education
Broker license for a person who does not already have
a salesperson license = 120 hours of instruction in approved courses, 45 of which
shall be those hours required to obtain a salesperson license, plus at least 45
hours of mandatory courses as outlined in Section 1450.60 of the Rules.
license for a person who does already have a salesperson license = 75 hours of
instruction in approved courses (not including the 45 hours required to obtain
the salesperson license).
The persons who are exempt from pre-license education
are persons who are Illinois licensed attorneys and persons who qualify based
upon Reciprocity with another State - check the DBRE webpage for a list of reciprocal
States. Information regarding Pre-license Education Schools and Testing locations
may be found on the DBRE web site. Application forms are also available on the
DBRE web site. The application must include the certification of a passing score
on the exam, a properly issued sponsor card, and a check for the license. The
current fees for each license are available on the DBRE web site.
Banks and Real Estate Real Estate Frequently Asked Questions